top of page

2017 Prize Giving Award

“Introduction to Shipping” awarded to Mr Toh Qian Rui Joel sponsored by The Baltic Exchange (Singapore).

“Shipping Business” awarded to Mr Tan Ker Han sponsored by Louis Dreyfus Company.

“Legal Principles in Shipping Business” awarded to Ms Ekaterina Belovitskaya sponsored by Tata NYK Shipping Pte Ltd.

“Dry Cargo Chartering” awarded to Mr Glenn Goh sponsored by Norden Shipping (Singapore) Pte Ltd.

“Ship Operations and Management” awarded to Mr Prabhu Narayan Singh sponsored by Anglo-Eastern Ship Management (Singapore) Pte Ltd.

“Ship Sale and Purchase” awarded to Mr Prabhu Narayan Singh sponsored by Braemar ACM Shipbroking Pte Ltd.

“Tanker Chartering” awarded to Mr Varun Kapoor sponsored by Strait Shipbrokers Pte Ltd.

“Liner Trades” awarded to Mr Daniel Piechnik sponsored by Pacific International Lines Pte Ltd. Committee Member accepts on behalf of Mr Piechnik.

“Port Agency” awarded to Mr Tarun Nagpal sponsored by GAC Singapore Pte Ltd.

“Logistics & Multi-modal Transport” awarded to Mr Dan Chua Kok Leong sponsored by Transworld Group Singapore.

“Port & Terminal Management” awarded to Mr A R Jude Darren sponsored by Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers Singapore Branch.

“Offshore Support Industry” awarded to Mr Koh Ming Chang sponsored by Swire Pacific Offshore Operations Pte Ltd. Committee Member accepts on behalf of Mr Koh.

“Economics of Sea Transport & International Trade” awarded to Mr Garry Steiner sponsored by Torvald Klaveness.

“Shipping Law” awarded to Mr Viknesh Jeg Pillay sponsored by Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers Singapore branch. Committee Member accepts on behalf of Mr. Pillay.

“Marine Insurance” awarded to Ms Wu Yixuan sponsored by ITIC Ltd.

“Shipping Finance” awarded to Mr Wong Koon Min sponsored by Eastport Maritime Pte Ltd. Committee Member accepts on behalf of Mr Wong.

“Best Overall Student” awarded to Mr Prabhu Narayan Singh sponsored by Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore.

2017 ICS Singapore Branch Prize Winners

Singapore Branch Committee Members



The Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers, Singapore Branch, held its Annual Prize Giving Ceremony on the 27th February 2017.  The ceremony gave the local shipping community to an opportunity to recognise all the candidates who excelled in the Academic year 2015-2016 examinations.

Networking and cocktails session that followed proved to be a relaxed evening for everyone. Not only did the attendees grab the chance to meet and interact with the prize winners, but also found the chance to meet industry colleagues very valuable and thus many stayed back till quite late in the evening. The evening was initially kicked off by the MC for evening Ms Sophia Low, MICS and was followed by a word of welcome by our chairman Mr Punit Oza, FICS.

The Guest of Honour for the evening was Prof. Annie Koh, Vice President, Office of Business Development, Academic Director ITS, SMU, who during her keynote address, highlighted the successful 10-year partnership between ICS and SMU, in the field of education in Singapore to some very popular applause. She also encouraged all the company representatives who attended to be role-models in being more active in hiring talent locally from the pool of Singapore ICS students.

Other VIP Guests who graced the evening were Mr S.S. Teo, Director of PIL, Ms Maite Bolivar Klarup, GM, BIMCO, Mr S.K. Lim, MD Transport Logistics, IMC Industrial Group, Mr Ryota Takenaka, Executive Director, TaTa NYK, to mention a few of the names.


The Star of the evening though was Mr Prabhu Narayan Singh who bagged the Best Overall Student Award which was sponsored by MPA Singapore. He attended the ceremony to collect his prize from Ms Tan Beng Tee, Asst. Chief Executive (Development) MPA Singapore, following the other 16 individual subject award in each exam.  Each of the individual awards was presented by one of the local industry leaders representing the sponsoring organisation of each award.

Prize Sponsors
bottom of page